Home / Series / George Carlin HBO Specials / Aired Order / Season 0 / Episode 14

The Mark Twain Prize

Four days before his death, the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts had named Carlin its 2008 Mark Twain Prize for American Humor honoree.[73] The prize was awarded in Washington, D.C. on November 10, making Carlin the first posthumous recipient.[74] Comedians honoring him at the ceremony included Jon Stewart, Bill Maher, Lily Tomlin (a past Twain Humor Prize winner), Lewis Black, Denis Leary, Joan Rivers, and Margaret Cho.

  • Originally Aired November 10, 2008
  • Runtime 60 minutes
  • Content Rating United States of America TV-MA
  • Network HBO
  • Notes Is a season finale
  • Created August 5, 2014 by
    Administrator admin
  • Modified August 5, 2014 by
    Administrator admin
Name Type Role
John Stewart Guest Star
Joan Rivers Guest Star
Bill Maher Guest Star
Margaret Cho Guest Star
Lily Tomlin Guest Star
Lewis Black Guest Star
Denis Leary Guest Star